Skip Navigation

People - Current Graduate Students

 

Graduate
Student
Degree
Graduate 
Advisor
Email Address
Research Topic
Andrews, CaitlinCaitlin Andrews Forest Resources (M.S., 2015) Aaron Weiskittel caitlin.vermont@gmail.com  I am studying the effects of climate change on the distribution of the spruce-fir forest type of the Acadian Region.
Arvisais, KyleArvisais, Kyle Master of Forestry (M.F., 2016) Shawn Fraver kyle.arvisais@maine.edu I am studying regeneration characteristics of bigtooth aspen (Populus grandidentata) and applying them to a revised management plan in stands 173 and 177 in the DeMeritt Forest, where a previous small gap harvest has taken place.
Ayrey, Elias Forest Resources (M.S., 2015) Shawn Fraver elias.ayrey@maine.edu Developing an algorithm to segment 3-D tree shapes from LiDAR data, then implementing it to predict carbon content of each individual tree in the forest.
Blair, Martha Forest Resources (M.S.) John Daigle martha.blair@umit.maine.edu
Butak, AmandaButak, Amanda Forest Resources (M.S.) Michael Day amanda.butak@umit.maine.edu
Carter, DavidDavid Carter Silviculture and Forest Ecology (M.S., 2015) Robert Seymour david.r.carter@maine.edu I am investigating the survival and growth dynamics of reserve trees in an expanding-gap silvicultural system 20 years after the establishment of the project.
Castle, MarkOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Forest Resources (M.S.) Aaron Weiskittel mark.castle@maine.edu
Chen, CenOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Forest Resources (Ph.D.) Aaron Weiskittel cen.chen@maine.edu
Cole, NeilaOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Master of Forestry (M.F.) Aaron Weiskittel neila.cole@maine.edu
Cooper, ClarkeOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Master of Forestry (M.F., 2016) Aaron Weiskittel clarke.cooper@maine.edu Pursuing the ideal of landscape forestry for small-lot owners.
Costanza, KaraCostanza, Kara Forest Resources (Ph.D.) William Livingston kara.lorion@maine.edu
Crouse, JustinCrouse, Justin Forest Resources (M.S., 2015) Mehdi Tajvidi justin.crouse@maine.edu Temperature and humidity dependent mechanical performance of nanocellulose and its composites.
Dixon, GarthGarth Dixon Master of Forestry (M.F.) Aaron Weiskittel garth.dixon@maine.edu
Doty, JonathanJonathan Dotty Master of Forestry (M.F., 2015) Bob Wagner jonathan.l.doty@maine.edu I am working with Irving Woodlands to examine their participation in Outcome Based Forestry (OBF), an alternative forest policy in the state of Maine. My work seeks to understand what it means to practice OBF, what the benefits/drawbacks are to the landowner and the state, and the impacts of the policy upon Maine’s forested landscape.
Ellis, AmandaEllis, Amanda Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2016) John Daigle amanda.m.ellis@maine.edu I am exploring Wabanaki access to sweetgrass (Hierochloe odorata) within the context of Maine’s diminishing open land tradition.
Farrell, ElizabethElizabeth Farrell Master of Forestry (M.F.) Aaron Weiskittel elizabeth.farrell@maine.edu
Fefer, JessicaFefer, Jessica Forest Resources (M.S., 2015) Sandra de Urioste-Stone jessica.fefer@maine.edu  I am bringing together the perceptions of park managers, park planners, and recreation scientists to identify the drivers of an effective and sustainable visitor management framework in protected areas around the world.
Fuller, MorganMorgan Fuller Plant Soils and Environmental Science (M.S.) Ivan Fernandez morgan.fuller@maine.edu
Ghasemi, ShokoofehShokoofeh Ghasemi Forest Resources (Ph.D.) Mehdi Tajvidi shokoofeh.ghasemi@maine.edu
Gorman, JanetJanet Gorman Forest Resources (M.S., 2016) Jessica Leahy janet.gorman@maine.edu  I am exploring the potential for cross-boundary invasive forest pest control among community conservation leaders and landowners in northern New England using mixed methods that consider cooperation, trust, and risk perception regarding Asian longhorned beetle and emerald ash borer.
Greene, Roger Master of Forestry (M.F.) Robert Seymour roger_greene@umit.maine.edu
Greenlaw, SuzanneGreenlaw, Suzanne Forest Resources (Ph.D.) John Daigle suzanne.greenlaw@maine.edu
Grimm, Samuel Forest Resources (M.S.) Robert Seymour samuel.grimm@maine.edu
Hashemi, SayyedSeyyed Mohammad Hashemi Najafi Forest Resources (Ph.D.) Mehdi Tajvidi seyyed.hashemi@maine.edu
Hiesl, Patrick Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2015) Jeffrey Benjamin patrick.hiesl@maine.edu I am using computer simulations to answer questions about the productivity and cost effectiveness of harvesting equipment currently operating in Maine’s woods.
Hinkley, AmyAmy Hinkley Forest Resources (M.S.) Robert Lilieholm amy.e.hinkley@maine.edu
Hutton, Christopher “Joe”Hutton, Christopher “Joe” Forestry, Forest Operations (M.S., 2015) Jeffrey Benjamin christopher.hutton@maine.edu I am studying the repair and maintenance costs of forest machines, productivity of in-woods biomass chippers, and chip quality produced by in-woods chippers to better understand the costs of producing forest biomass as a renewable energy resource.
Jennings, CaseyJennings, Casey Master of Forestry (M.F.) Robert Seymour casey.jennings@maine.edu
Johnson, ToraJohnson, Tora Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2015) Jessica Leahy tjohnson@maine.edu I am exploring the role of dignity, involvement and trust in environmental decision making among rural communities.
Kennedy, AndrewOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Master of Forestry (M.F.) Aaron Weiskittel andrew.kennedy@maine.edu
Knowlton, Christopher Master of Forestry (M.F.) Robert Lilieholm christopher.knowlton@maine.edu
Lachance, CodyCody LaChance Forest Resources (M.S., 2016) Robert Wagner cody.lachance@maine.edu I am researching the long-term influence of soil disturbance following whole-tree harvesting on growth and composition of naturally regnerated spruce-fir stands in northern Maine. I am also investigating the effects of stand density and level of harvest removal on residual stem damage during commerical thinning operation in spruce-fir stands.
Langley, Cathie-JoCJ Forest Resources (M.S.) Michael Day cathiejo.langley@maine.edu
Legaard, KaseyLegaard Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2015) Steven Sader kasey_legaard@umit.maine.edu I use remote sensing, geospatial analysis, and forest landscape simulation to study forest disturbance patterns, trajectories of landscape change, and the cumulative effects of interacting forest disturbance agents.
Lewis, Elizabeth Forest Resources (M.S.) Bruce Wiersma Elizabeth_Lewis@umit.maine.edu
McEvoy, AndrewAndrew McEvoy Master of Forestry (M.F.) Jessica Leahy andrew.mcevoy@maine.edu
Muñoz, BethanyMuñoz, Bethany Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2016) Laura Kenefic, Aaron Weiskittel bethany.munoz@maine.edu I am quantifying spatial and temporal aspects of forest site productivity within the Penobscot Experimental Forest, Bradley, Maine.
Patel, KaizadPatel, Kaizad Ecology and Environmental Sciences (Ph.D.) Ivan Fernandez kaizad.patel@maine.edu
Puhlick, JoshuaStudent Forest Resources (Ph.D.) Aaron Weiskittel joshua.puhlick@maine.edu My research involves evaluating the influence of 60 years of different silvicultural and harvesting regimes on carbon storage on the Penobscot Experimental Forest in Maine.
Richley, AndrewRichley Master of Forestry (M.F.) Robert Seymour andrew.richley@maine.edu
Rutenbeck, Nathan Silviculture and Forest Ecology (Ph.D.) Robert Seymour nathan.rutenbeck@maine.edu My dissertation research focuses specifically on the effect of natural disturbance-based expanding-gap (femelschlag) silvicultural treatments on the spatial and temporal dynamics of regeneration composition and growth in the Acadian forest.
Sandilands, DavidSandilands, David Forest Resources (M.S., 2015) Steven Sader david.sandilands@maine.edu I am evaluating the suitability of 3D image point clouds obtained through small-format aerial photogrammetry techniques to estimate local forest stand parameters.
Scaccia, MatthewScaccia, Matthew Forest Resources (M.S., 2015) Sandra de Urioste-Stone matthew.scaccia@maine.edu I am conducting studies on Maine residents’ attitudes toward sustainable tourism, the effects of climate change on tourism in Maine, and outdoor recreation planning.
Schlager, ErinSchlager, Erin Forest Resources (M.S.) Jessica Leahy erin.schlager@maine.edu
Silver, EmilyEmily Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2015) Jessica Leahy, Aaron Weiskittel emily.j.silver@maine.edu I am interested in multiple aspects of land use history, current land use policy, silviculture and forest management, and most currently how humans interact with forest resources.
Stapp, JaredJared Strapp Ecology and Environmental Sciences (M.S., 2015) Robert Lilieholm jared.stapp@maine.edu I am linking empirical forest cover trends, community attitudes, and
policies in place to better understand community-based forest resource
management in the buffer zone surrounding Chitwan National Park, Nepal.
Szwedo, Paul Master of Forestry (M.F.) Robert Seymour paul.szwedo@maine.edu
Teets, AaronAaron Teets Forest Resources (M.S.) Shawn Fraver aaron.teets@maine.edu
Thompson, MichaelMichael Thompson Forest Ecology (Ph.D., 2017) Shawn Fraver michael.e.thompson@maine.edu I’m studying the composition and structure of late successional and old growth forests in the Acadian Forest of the Northeastern US.
Tizezew, SisayTizesew Sisay Forest Resources (M.S., 2017) Jessica Leahy tizezew.sisay@maine.edu Women and Environmental Degradation in Ethiopia.
Tripathi, JayaOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Wood Science and Technology (M.S., 2016) Robert Rice jaya.tripathi@maine.edu I am looking hygrothermal movement and thermal insulation value of Cross- Laminated Timber wall systems used in buildings.
Wang, LuWang, Lu Bioproducts & Bioenergy (Ph.D., 2017) Douglas Gardner lu.wang@maine.edu I am ultilizing nature nanofibers to reinforce plastics made by additive manufacturing. This will expand the scope of the materials used in AM and the resulting products can be used in industries like construction, automobile, electronics, biomedical, packaging and etc.
Weil, KristenKristen Weil Ecology and Environmental Sciences (M.S., 2015) Robert Lilieholm,Chris Cronan kristen.weil@maine.edu I am modelling the relationship between watershed characteristics and stream biological community to determine stream vulnerability across the State of Maine.
Wesely, NathanNathan Wesley Forest Resources (M.S.) Shawn Fraver, Laura Kenefic nathan.wesely@maine.edu
Wilkins, EmilyEmily Wilkins Forest Resources (M.S., 2016) Sandra de Urioste-Stone emily.wilkins@maine.edu I am looking at the impact of past weather on visitation and tourism-related spending in three regions of Maine to better understand how changing weather could affect tourism-dependent communities.
Yildirim, NadirYildirim, Nadir Forest Resources (Ph.D., 2016) Stephen Shaler nadir.yildirim@maine.edu My research interest covers nanocomposites, micro and nano cellular structures, their cradle to grave production process and evaluation of their physical, morphological, thermal and nanomechanical properties.
Yousefi, Niloofar Forest Resources (M.S.) Mehdi Tajvidi niloofar.yousefi@maine.edu

 

 


Online Theses and Dissertations

You can view recent ETDs here, older ones here, and most UMaine doctoral works are also available in Proquest Dissertations and Theses, found here.


Back to People